Our Royal Charter

CIM’s purpose, powers and governance are established by our Royal Charter, bye-laws and regulation. Together they are known as The Constitution.

Like all chartered bodies, CIM is regulated by the Privy Council, a group of advisors to the Queen.  Amendments to our Charter can only be made with the agreement of the Queen in Council, and amendments to our bye-laws must be approved by the Privy Council.

Less than 1,000 Royal Charters have been granted since 1231. Charters are granted very rarely, usually for bodies working in the public interest, such as professional institutions like CIM.

Royal Charter

Our Board of Trustees

The Constitution establishes our Board of Trustees, who are responsible for the overall governance of CIM and its affairs. The Board is answerable to CIM members for the activities and functioning of CIM and the extent to which its objects have been met.

It is The Board of Trustees’ responsibility to:

  • Give direction on all aspects of CIM’s Strategy and policy and develop long-term strategic plans and policy objectives for the Chief Executive and staff to implement.
  • Review, approve and where appropriate request plans and programmes for achieving objectives.
  • Ensure that CIM complies with legislative and regulatory requirements and acts within the confines of the Charter, Bye-laws, General and Board Regulations in furtherance to its objectives.

The trustees are advised and supported in their work by the following five committees.

  • Audit and Risk Committee.
  • Appointments and Remuneration Committee.
  • Constitution and Ethics Committee.
  • Disciplinary Committee.
  • Strategy and Finance Committee.


Annual General Meeting 2019

CIM’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) takes place on Monday 09 December 2019 at Moor Hall, Cookham. All relevant documents can be found below. This includes the Proxy Form, which must be completed and returned by post no later than 48 hours before the meeting takes place if you wish to vote but cannot attend the AGM.


CIM Board of Trustees Election 2019 Results:

 Candidate % of votes  Result
 Natalie Gross 21.1  Elected UK and Europe
 Andrew Yuille 18.2  Elected UK and Europe
 Andrew Binns 16.4  Elected UK and Europe
 Mocky Khan 12.8  
 Nadi Dharmasiri 11.2  Elected Rest of the World
 Shiraz Latif 10.4  
 Sanjika Perera 9.9  
  • CoBrowse